day 43. keeping busy.

It’s only 11:15 am and I’m already blogging? Weird, I know. I usually get on this about twelve hours from now. I’m determined to write some of these posts early, though.

But let’s be perfectly honest here. The real reason I’m writing now is because I went to early church service because I have to work at 11:30, so when I got home I had some extra time. But hey, productivity! That’s what you do with extra time, right? I really need to get my whiteboard from my house so I can start making my lists again. I feel like only half of me exists without it. That’s not true. But I do miss it.

I realized today that the next few weeks are going to be quite action-packed. I have something going on every weekend until mid-March, which is kind of exciting but kind of intimidating at the same time. But I’m fine with it – I thrive on pressure and having a schedule of things to get done. I’m one of those people who makes challenges to herself. Not the making-a-deal kind of challenge – I don’t promise myself I can do something if I get work done, I don’t have that kind of self-control. I like to look at everything I have to do and think about to what satisfaction I want to complete all of those items on my list, and tell myself, “I bet you can’t do all of that. That’s a lot of things.”

I know how weird that sounds. I’m aware.

But it works for me. My entire life I’ve been an overachiever, mostly because I spent my time telling myself that. Sometimes there are things that fall through the cracks, of course, but who doesn’t struggle every now and then? It’s much better to be busy and working a lot than bored and not have anything to do. Right? Maybe that’s why God invented Netflix.

Speaking of Netflix, I’ve had Revolutionary Road for a few weeks now and I haven’t watched it. Shame on me. I need to do that soon.

Anyway, I’m off to work here in a few minutes, but what I really wanted to do is challenge you to push yourself this week. Sit down and think about the things that need to get done, and think about what you want the end results of those list items to be, and tell yourself that you can do it. Or that you can’t. Either way, whatever works for you.

But push yourself, even just a little bit. Do one of your list items a little bit more completely than you would have otherwise. Add a little flourish. Go out of your way to do something for someone else.

I’ll keep you updated if you keep me updated.

_____________________________________________________________________________

As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our flesh and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature deserving of wrath. But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Ephesians 2:1-10

One thought on “day 43. keeping busy.

  1. Revolutionary Road is SO good but heartbreaking. I want to know your thoughts after you finally watch it.

    I am going to try and push myself this week.

Comments are closed.