day 40. future dreams.

Can you believe we’re already 40 days into 2011? Seriously? Eleven percent of this year is over. I don’t even know what to say about that. Just typing all of that makes me feel like I have a lot less time to accomplish what I want to get done this year – better get on it, I suppose.

I’ve had kind of a change of pace today. It’s another snow day (not that I have class on Wednesday, but whatever), and I’m just chilling at my parents’ house, getting some reading and other things done. Right now, I’m sitting in the living room, eating a small bowl of baby carrots and looking out at the snow on everything. I haven’t gone outside today, and to be perfectly honest, I’m fine with that. I love looking at the snow, but I really don’t like spending time in it.

That’s not what I wanted to talk about.

When reading skimming thinking about my archives, I realized I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the past. Specifically, the past year of my life, which I think we can all agree was not the highlight of my twenty-two-and-a-half years here (the half is always the most important part, right?). That’s really not something I want to dwell on.

I want to think about the future. I want to think about all of the exciting things I have lined up for my future. Specifically, the next year of my life. Where will I be six months from now? A year from now? I’m crossing my fingers that I know the answer to that question.

I’m sorry that’s, like, the worst picture of all time. But whatever, the spirit is there.

My main goals right now are as follows:

  1. Graduate in April
  2. Move to NYC in August

And…that’s about it. I mean, I have other, smaller goals to make those two happen, but those are the two major events happening this year. Maybe I should start a countdown.

Yes, I’m totally pulling a Carrie Bradshaw. I think she grew up in New York. Maybe. I’m not sure – bad superfan moment.  Moving to NYC to write and live it up and maybe even fall in love while I’m at it? Who wouldn’t want that? Most of you probably know this, but I’m definitely a city girl. I can’t imagine not living in a city. I have a sneaking feeling that once I get to NYC, I might not ever leave. And I might not totally hate that.

And I’m going to be real with you right now: my dream of moving to NYC to be a writer and a big-time entry-level-bottom-of-the-food-chain editorial-somebody is the only thing keeping me going. Well, how melodramatic of me. Of course there are other things. But this is what I really want, this is what I’m really striving to achieve. Everything I do in the next six months is building up to this.

Six months? Is that it? Really?

February. March. April. May. June. July.

August.

Yes. Six months.

Time to get it into gear, I guess.

What do you plan to do this year? What are your big dreams?

 

4 thoughts on “day 40. future dreams.

  1. bailey-chan! it’s 3:03 am and i’m skimming your blog and laughing and smiling because i can picture you saying everything as i read it 🙂 i think your goals are WONDERFUL and completely achievable. You’re brilliant and i am not just saying that because i love you, i love you BECAUSE you’re brilliant. or something like that. i can’t wait to read more about what’s going on with you!!!

    p.s. that’s not a bad picture. i TOOK that picture, thankyouverymuch, and you look pretty. and we’re in hong kong, which adds extra cool points.

    • Jordan, you’re too sweet. I just love you 🙂 One small thing, though – that’s actually from NYC, the summer I lived there. It does look scarily like Hong Kong, though!

Comments are closed.