day 27. my dad is brilliant.

You guys, the reason day 27 is late is because it was impossibly boring. Like, I don’t know how the day could have been less exciting. I guess that part is up to me, isn’t it?

I did have one funny thing happen, though. I had dinner with my family, and we went back to look at their kitchen set-up (they’ve been redoing it for a few months, and it’s starting to look really, really good). We were just sitting and talking, and my dad said, “Oh! Here’s this thing!” He handed me a little brown box and wished me a Merry Christmas.

Of course, I gave him a look like this:

And then I realized it was a late Christmas present, and I was thrilled. I love Christmas. I love it a lot.

But more than I love getting presents, I love spending time with my family.

And honestly, this is one of those phrases that I’ve heard over and over again. I’ve never taken a lot of notice of it, just because it’s kind of cheesy.

But getting this from my dad and thinking about the fact that I know he really, really meant it? That changed it for me.

Anyway, I love my dad for a lot of reasons. He taught me a lot of things, like

  • how to find humor in every situation
  • it’s better to just tell the truth
  • how to build things
  • how to deal with all kinds of people
  • and a lot of other things I can’t think of right now.

In fact, he used to read this book to me a lot when I was little:

Hmm. This seems suspicious.

And he’s tried to teach me how to change a tire and some various other things in my car a few times, but that didn’t really stick. I know. You don’t have to tell me how lame that is.

Also, he left this comment on the post before this:

I didn’t know that thing was called an asphidity bag. See, Dad? Teaching me new things every day.

So, just, I love my dad. I thought you should know.

And now he can’t get onto me for spending time blogging because I wrote a blog about how brilliant he is.

