day 25. I have a secret that’s really no secret at all.

Here it is: I love awards season. I LOVE IT. If you think the first thing I did today when I woke up wasn’t immediately check the Oscar noms, you would be wrong.

Oscar parties are one of my favorite things in the world. I went to one last year thrown by my friends Brittany and Tiffany, and they had Oscar ballots for us, a red carpet to take pictures on, and all kinds of cute decorations and fancy snacks. So fun! I’m not 100% on what I’m doing this year, but I’m pretty sure, and I’m really looking forward to it. I love getting dressed up for awards parties, too – it’s kind of like you’re there, but you don’t have to worry about cameras always being on you. Also there are no famous people in my living room. I don’t know about you, but…I don’t run around with famous people. I wish I did, but, there you have it.

Here are my picks for this year:

  • Best Picture – The King’s Speech. This was a really tough call, mostly because I’ve only seen about half of the films on the list, but I saw this a few days ago and was blown away. I think Inception might be my favorite movie I’ve seen this year, but I think The King’s Speech is the best movie of the year. Other serious contenders: Inception, The Social Network, Black Swan, The Kids Are All Right.
  • Lead Actor – Colin Firth, The King’s Speech. I’ll be extremely disappointed if anyone else takes this.
  • Supporting Actor – Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech. Again, I’ll be very disappointed if this doesn’t happen. I think Christian Bale might win for The Fighter, though.
  • Lead Actress – Annette Bening, The Kids Are All Right. Haven’t seen it, but I haven’t seen any of the movies in this category, so I choose Bening. She won the Golden Globe and apparently the film is phenom.
  • Supporting Actress – Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit. Haven’t seen it but heard she’s great. I didn’t pick HBC, mostly because while she is an incredible actress, I didn’t feel the role in The King’s Speech really gave her much to work with.
  • Animated Film – Toy Story 3. I’m not even going to explain this. It’s that obvious.
  • Art Direction – The King’s Speech. I really deliberated on this one, but when it came down to it, I really think the art direction of this film topped the rest. Other contenders: Inception, Deathly Hallows.
  • Cinematography – Black Swan. I still haven’t seen this, but from what I hear and from what I have seen, the camerawork is really good.
  • Costume Design – Alice in Wonderland. I almost picked The Tempest, but I think this demanded more originality and it was certainly delivered.
  • Directing – The Social Network. I just feel like TSN will take this one. I don’t know why. I just have a feeling.
  • Film Editing – Black Swan. Again, I just have a feeling.
  • Original Score – The Social Network. Incredible score that worked very well with the film. My second choice would be How to Train Your Dragon, but I really doubt that’s going to win, as unfortunate as that is.
  • Sound Editing – Toy Story 3. That or Inception.
  • Visual Effects – Alice in Wonderland. Other contenders: Deathly Hallows, Inception. I’ll be sick if Iron Man 2 wins this, or is critically recognized in any way.
  • Adapted Screenplay – The Social Network. Criticism aside, this was a well-written and very well-acted movie.
  • Original Screenplay – The Kids Are All Right. Other contenders: The King’s Speech, The Fighter.

I don’t know what it is about Inception, but I just don’t have a good feeling about it. It was truly an incredible film in almost every way, but honestly, it didn’t stand out in any of these categories. I’m very surprised LDC didn’t get nommed for Best Actor, but you get what you get, I suppose.

I don’t have a guess for makeup, mostly because I’m shocked that neither Alice in Wonderland nor Deathly Hallows made it into the category. Harry Potter films are always contenders for makeup – I was just very confused.

I left out the categories in which I have no opinion and not even a guess at what the winners would be, like short films. I like them, but I don’t see very many.

What are your picks?

One thought on “day 25. I have a secret that’s really no secret at all.

  1. I can’t even comment because I have way too many opinions for the time I have allotted for myself to buzz around the internet right now.

    DEFINITELY Colin Firth.

Comments are closed.