day 18. future planning.

When I first started writing this post, I started it with a complaint. Complaining about what I chose to wear today. And I looked at that sentence for a few seconds, realized exactly how whiny it sounded, and promptly backspaced over it.

Sometimes I get bogged down in being unhappy about where I am in life. It’s easier to complain than to change what I don’t like, and that’s one thing that I’m really working on right now. It became a lot easier for me to just be unhappy in general than to make changes to the few areas I was unhappy with, and that’s one of the traps that leads to depression and being miserable.

It’s been a really good day so far. I just met with my adviser and we worked out a plan for the next few months of my life. It was really good to have someone to just bounce ideas off of and with whom I can discuss what I really want to do. I think the biggest step is going to be the move, and once I get that on lock, I’ll be good to go. So I’m writing it everywhere, leaving myself reminders all over the place. Save your money, save your time, always keep thinking about what you really want to do.

But one thing that I really did need to splurge on this month was this:

I’ve also resolved to read more news. Most of the time I spend on the Internet I use educating myself. Sometimes the things I’m learning about are less…relevant…than others, but that doesn’t mean I’m not learning. I’ve fallen really out of touch with current events, though, so my goal for the rest of January is to start keeping better-informed about the world.

Now, to listen to Kanye and get some future planning done.

One thought on “day 18. future planning.

  1. Glad to hear things are going well and you’ve got some long range thinking happening; and you’re right – the little things you do every day contribute to the long term goals. It’s the same with your spiritual life, college life, family life, and life life. Love.

Comments are closed.