day 17: the first great closet smackdown of 2011.

It’s that time again. Time to clean out my closet and get rid of the things I don’t wear anymore. Things I don’t even like, but I keep around because, I mean, someday I might get inspired and find a way to wear them. It’s time for those things to go. There are clothes that have been living permanently on the floor since I did laundry because there’s nowhere to put them, and that means there are some clothes that need to go.

This is the appropriate accompanying gif, I would say.

Aside from the laundry I need to do, I’ve cleaned out a lot of things. And I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them. The clothes that are good brands that I’ve barely worn? Maybe I’ll try to sell them on eBay. Not really sure. The ones that are still in good shape? I’ll probably donate them. Or if anyone wants them, you’re more than welcome to them. I just don’t know what to do with them.

I’m also considering starting an Etsy shop. I make a lot of little hair cutesy dealsies, like headbands, clips, that kind of thing. It would be really nice to have a small side hustle, don’t you think? We’ll see. I’ve got a few other things to settle down first, and then we’ll see where I am after that.

This is kind of a weird post, I think. But cleaning out my closet was something that I really, really needed to do. And now I have a big pile of clothes with which to do whatever I want. There were moments when I would pull out a skirt and say, “I just bought this a month ago and the tags are still on it. I don’t even remember buying it.” I like it much more than other things I have, and I’m horrified that I just forgot that I have things. How white-girl-problemz is that? So tonight was a good cleanse of the things that I’m tired of, or have just hung onto because I might want them someday.

So, after a good wash tomorrow afternoon, I’m going to make some final decisions about what to do with the things I’m not keeping.

Have you done a New Year Deep Clean yet? I guess what I did wasn’t exactly a deep clean. A deep getting-rid-of-things-I-don’t-need, but close enough. The deep clean will come later.

2 thoughts on “day 17: the first great closet smackdown of 2011.

  1. AUGH. I need to do this. I have 4 dresses with tags on them in my closet. One from Francesca’s actually. My mom bought it for me for my rehearsal dinner but…well…fat happens.

    I’ve thought about relinquishing some of these to you, my favorite friend, but I like them too much and am just hoarding them in my closet for now.

  2. I finally followed you via Tumblr. I would be glad to take any unwanted clothing from you as part of the ‘pay it forward’ =P I usually donate my own clothing to my little sister or her friends or whenever my family sends boxes to the Philippines.

    Anywho, I just read your [About Me] and noticed you like David Sedaris. I just started reading “Me Talk Pretty One Day” and picked up “Naked” which I’ll probably read soon. what’s your favorite book of his?

Comments are closed.