day 13. paying it forward.

Unpopular opinion time. I’ve always been a big believer in signs. And since this is such a text-heavy post, I’m going to fill it with gifs. You know you love me.

Call it fate, call it destiny, call it whatever you want. I believe in signs. Another thing I believe in is the general zodiac. I know, cross yourselves. No, I don’t believe in horoscopes and I don’t believe that you should live your life by it. But I’ve known my whole life that I’m a Taurus, and the general descriptions of Taureans are me, pretty much to a tee. It’s kind of weird.

When I say I believe in the general zodiac, what I mean is that I don’t think God will lead me to anything that he doesn’t know I’m reading. Like, if I read something in my horoscope that I think could apply to my day, I take it as a sign from God. Because ultimately, he dictates everything, and pretty much I’m going to take his word on it. I don’t read my horoscope every day and I don’t take that much stock in it, but if I do happen to read it and find it applicable, I think it’s because I was meant to read it that day.

So when I found out yesterday that apparently the zodiac changed, I got more than a little huffy. Well, that’s not true. I got a little huffy and that was about it. Huffy enough to complain about it here and call it good. I don’t know what they’re thinking, calling me an Aries. No way, Jose. And then I read that this uprooting of everyone is nothing new and has to do with planetary positions or the sun or something. So I’m not going to really worry about it. Huffing = done. Wait. Well, whatever.

I don’t think anything happens out of coincidence. I just don’t. One of my main mottos is “everything happens for a reason.” You can’t honestly tell me that you look back on every moment in your life and think, “Man, that one thing was really weird and has had absolutely no bearing on my life and I learned absolutely nothing from it.” You learn from everything that happens to you, unexpected or not. And that makes you who you are.

I had coffee with one of my adult friends today, Katy. I’ve been having a lot of coffee lately, it would seem. Oh well. I certainly don’t hate it. And even as I typed out the words “adult friends,” I got a weird feeling. I know she probably won’t appreciate being called an adult friend, haha. By that I just mean that she isn’t in school. When we’re still in school, we’re in such a weird transitional place between legally being adults, but also still not quite functioning at 100% in society. Anyway. Sorry if I got a little word vomit on you there.

Katy’s been there for me for the past few months, listening to me talk about my problems and generally just being great. Which is why it was such a nice thing today that we spent the majority of our time today just talking about life – we talked about TV shows that we watch, books we’ve read, music we listen to, any fun plans for the next six months. And it was doubleplusgood nice when she told me that I seem a lot better than I did last time we talked. I can’t tell you how huge of a compliment that is to me right now. Because I do feel a lot better than last time we talked, and I feel much more together and prepared for life and that sort of thing.

And because I’m in a really good mood, I’m taking on a blogger challenge that’s been circulating the Internets as of this week, the Pay it Forward challenge. I don’t actually know if that’s what it’s called, but I’m doing mine based on Mary’s, and that’s what she called it, SO.

I promise to mail something homemade and fantastic to the first five bloggers to comment here. That’s right. Bloggers. I know that kicks some of you out, and I’m really sorry for that, but it’s the circulation of the idea that counts. If you comment here for that, you have to post it on your blog and continue the chain. Continue the chain or your true love will never find you and all of your family will die in a horrible wreck and you’ll never be happy again. That’s how those usually go, right? Kidding. Fashion blogger chain blogs are much better and much sweeter.

So this is the time for non-commenters to reveal themselves! Just leave me your email address and I’ll get in touch with you. If you’ve already posted the challenge on your blog, you’re definitely still welcome to enter mine! As long as the challenge is on your blog somewhere, I’m fine with it. I know I don’t have that many readers.

I’ve always been a big believer in signs. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how doing good for others will always make good come back to you. And that’s completely not why I’m doing this, really, it’s not. Doing good for others, even if it’s just mailing off some handmade goodies, is, for me, a sign that I’m moving forward. I’m not just thinking about myself. I can’t even begin to say how self-righteous that last sentence made me feel, and I’m sorry for that. But for where I’ve been for the last year, this is kind of a big deal.

Do you believe in signs? Destiny? Coincidence? Or are you a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pantser, “pantser” for short? I’m not a pantser. I can’t. Too much uncertainty there. I like to know things. I guess that’s what makes me a Taurus. And I know that astrology is ridiculous, and not to put too much faith in horoscopes and all of that. But if you ever look up your sign and read the general description of your character, you might be surprised at how accurate it can be. Not about everything, but a lot of things. Daily horoscopes? Not so much. Eh.

I know, however, that I am most certainly not an Aries.

Only open to US people – sorry, but I’m just not equipped to send things overseas. As if I have any international readers, anyway. I actually just snorted at my presumption there. And if there aren’t five people who take me up on this, the better for those that do, right?

1. Jazmin of JazHappy
2.
3.
4.
5.

2 thoughts on “day 13. paying it forward.

  1. I don’t know half the time how to [follow] blogs that are not on Tumblr since I’m not internet savvy. I just bookmark the page & check often =P Anyway, this Pay It Forward sounds like a fun idea so I’m gonna do it along with my book giveaway on my own Tumblr (http://jazhappy.tumblr.com)

    • I also run this blog on a Tumblr if you want to follow it there, in addition to my regular Tumblr 🙂 I try to make it easier on Tumblrers.

      Added you to the list 🙂 Thanks for joining! I’ll email you before the end of next week.

Comments are closed.