day nine: if we never did anything, we’d never be anybody.

Day nine. Nine days in and I’m already at a loss for what to say. It’s been a rather long day. I was finally able to have a conversation that’s hung over for a few months, and while I’m glad that everything is finally out in the open and everyone is on the same page, it’s rather exhausting, now. I’m also watching An Education for the first time, hence the excessive use of the word “rather.” Sorry about that.

Today was the first day it’s snowed since last winter. The first snow of the new year. Nothing stuck, really, but it was a very nice day. Usually I hate inclement weather – really hate it – but today was good. I really enjoy being inside and watching it snow, and that’s what I was able to do today. I worked all day, which was even better.

I work in boutique retail, and I absolutely love it. Of course it has its down sides, but for the most part, it’s incredibly fun. I love everyone that I work with, and each day is enjoyable. I’m sure I’ll have more to expound upon in the next few months, but that’s not really what I’m talking about today.

The snow. I really enjoyed it. I’m a big believer in signs of refreshment and renewal, as I’m sure you can tell by now. And I’m a writer (or trying to be, as it were), so of course I take everything as its potential rather than its inherent reality. New year, new day, everything new, right?

It’s been a long time since I haven’t felt tied down by anyone or anything. Years, in fact. 2011 is a new year for me in almost every way. My life is filled with some of the sames and some of the differents, except this year there are more differents than sames. I’m looking on the sames with a new perspective, though, and perhaps that makes them all differents, then, if the sames are not the same sames. Now I feel a little like Gertrude Stein, with my repetition. I’m fine with that, though.

This might have been the most pointless post I’ve made yet, or might make for a while. But today was one of those days where there wasn’t one defining moment that made me really, really happy. It was just one of those passive, pleasant days, where I felt like I was floating across the surface of the day. But I think it’s important to have those days, as well, so the days filled with excitement and adrenaline don’t wear you down.

Tomorrow is going to be a little bit exciting, though. I have a fun thing planned. Several fun things, actually. So, until then, have a wonderful Sunday night, and if you start school tomorrow, best of luck. My first day isn’t until Tuesday, so one more day of freedom. But until tomorrow.

Of course I loved An Education. The screenplay was written by Nick Hornby.

4 thoughts on “day nine: if we never did anything, we’d never be anybody.

  1. That’s right. We didn’t discuss that the screenplay was by NH! Fascinating. He should go for an EGOT.

    I think that looking at the sames with a new perspective makes the sames different. Absolutely.

    Also, you wrote this blog so early in the day!

    • You’re right, he should go for the EGOT.

      I’m trying to write them before late at night, but most of the time my thoughts for the day aren’t fully collected until then. We’ll see. 356 more blogs to go, so surely some of them will make it earlier in the day.

  2. I LOVED An Education! I’m glad you liked it. 🙂 I also like your blog and have been thinking about doing something similar, but you’re really creative and smart and talented so I don’t want it to be the same because I like yours. 🙂

    • Aw, you’re too sweet! You should do something. It won’t be like mine, because, um, duh, it would be like yours.

Comments are closed.