day six is for skype.

Today’s happy moment is one that I’ve had planned for a few days. I had a Skype date with one of my best college friends Abigail. She was a fellow English major and a roommate for two years, and now she’s a fancy law student at OU. Big time, right?

We had to take this screenshot like six times because one of us kept looking blurry or confused. I like this one, though. It’s cute – we’re both smiling and laughing, so I think that’s pretty much all we were asking for at that point.

It was really refreshing to get to talk to her again today. We really hadn’t talked much in the past six months or so, because, well, I didn’t really talk to anyone in the past six months or so. But for as long as I can remember in college, we’ve been friends. We met freshman year when we had Spanish together, and I invited her to come to a “college party” – aka a party at my parents’ house where college freshmen were in attendance, whoooo – and we’ve been friends ever since. Apparently I made her feel really cool (I know, right? You’re not the only one scratching your head on that one, since she’s made of awesome and I’m made of weird), and she hasn’t stopped making me feel cool since then.

She’s pretty much always been there for me, to be excited about things that I was excited about and to be there for me when things were crushing. She’s probably going to be embarrassed when she reads this because she’s so modest, but she really is one of the most balanced, thoughtful, responsible and best people I know.

I had coffee later this afternoon with one of my other college friends who also, incidentally, happens to be a fancy law student at OU, AJ. I didn’t take a picture of him, though. I thought that might have weirded him out since he didn’t know about my blog. Maybe he does. Who knows? Anyway. Getting to see him and do some catch-up and getting advice was fantastic. Love that kid. When you see him run for office, vote for him.

One thing I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is what it means to be an adult. I’m twenty-two, and I’ll be twenty-three in May, so it’s probably time for me to start thinking about these kinds of things. At least, to the point where I am making decisions about what to do with my life. And that’s scary. Like my dad said the other night, making any big life transition is hard and really scary, and the best thing you can do is try to be the best person you can be while you’re doing it.

I think one big revelation I’ve come to over the past few days is that being an adult is not a lockdown situation. There are no real rules. Well, that’s not true. There are lots of rules and I’m pretty sure they call them laws. But as long as you live by those, there aren’t any cut-and-dried rules for how you think and act. And that means you can define being an adult however you want. You can fill the apartment with playpen balls if you want.

Not that I’m planning on filling my house with playpen balls anytime soon, but if I wanted to, I could. Being an adult means learning how to be happy with where you are and doing the best you can with what you have. It doesn’t mean trying to be serious all of the time. In fact, so much of adult time is spent being serious, why would you want to be serious when you don’t have to? I think this is my new life philosophy.

Be serious when you have to, but otherwise have as much fun as possible.

I like it.

Now, off to the first night of drama tv after hiatus! This is the second-most-exciting tv day for me, after the start of fall shows in September. Judge me. Gonna watch some Grey’s Anatomy and it’s gonna be great.

2 thoughts on “day six is for skype.

  1. Not taking so many things seriously changed my life. When you learn to let a lot of stuff slide and just have fun more, life becomes instantly better.

Comments are closed.