A new year, a new revamp, and I think I’ll call this a real post.

Well, it’s officially 2011, and I’m back on this blog. I’ve revamped it twice before, I think, and I have about 20 posts in backlog, but I’m going to try to do it again. No, I am going to do it again – do or do not, there is no try. So I’m going to start this blog back up and make it my happiness blog. Happiness Blog 2011. I’m going to post at least one thing every day that makes me happy.

It’s kind of surreal to think that when it gets cold again, I’ll still be posting things that make me happy.

And the things that make me happy this year are going to be different than they ever have in the past. I graduate college in April, but I’m only taking one real in-classroom class – so finding things that make me happy are going to come from the outside world, not from school things.

If we’re being totally honest here, finding things that make me happy might be a little more difficult in the next few months or so. I’m in the middle of recovering from a pretty intense depression, brought on by an unleashing of suppressed unhappiness for the past eight or so years. I know that sounds really broad, but…that’s what it is. So, yes, finding things that make me happy every day that are outside my immediate world is hard for me right now. I just thought we should be square on how everything is right now.

Today, the thing that’s making me really happy is a good rewatch of Fantasia 2000. I didn’t have to work today, so I slept in from my late night last night, woke up extremely refreshed for 2011, and have just been kind of chilling and taking care of general business since. And now I’m watching Fantasia 2000, since I got the two-disc box set of the two movies for Christmas.

I’d forgotten how completely awe-inspiring this movie is. I was in high-quality bands and orchestras for five years and have played many of the generally-accepted classical masterpieces in various groups, and the Fantasia movies remind me of what music is really about. It’s when you’re listening to certain passages that just get your heart racing, and you feel the physical expression of joy rising in your chest. You know what I’m talking about. A joy so indescribable, brought on only by things that are so inspiring that there really isn’t another feeling like it.

And I’m going to be watching my Oklahoma boys play in the Fiesta Bowl tonight. That’s going to be great.

And there really needs to be a Fantastia: The Planets. Amirite, Internet?

What are your resolutions? Big? Small? How do you plan to fulfill them?

One thought on “A new year, a new revamp, and I think I’ll call this a real post.

  1. I. Love. Fantasia. You know this though.

    I’m resolving to studying more and going to class more. (fingers crossed)

    I am excited to read this blog!

Comments are closed.